Painting Kuching in Watercolour

Gong Xi Fa Cai

Posted on: 14/02/2010

And instead of the ubiquitous old boring oranges, here are two varieties of the auspicious pineapple for the lunar new year – wang lai!

This is the popular Sarikei variety, sweet, juicy and crisp.

Fabriano Studio cold pressed 130lbs paper 12 x18” with Winsor & Newton colours, New Gamboge, Phthalo blue, Oxide of Chromium, Permanent Alizarin and Diozaxine purple.

This red one, according to the fruitseller, is imported from Johor.

I can’t tell you if it is good eating because by the time I completed my pencil roughs, my colour roughs, my detailed pencil drawing and my colour study, the fruit was well on its way to becoming BEER.

Cotmans cold pressed 130lbs paper 12 x 18” with Winsor & Newton colours – New Gamboge, Permanent Alizarin, Diozaxine purple, Phthalo blue, Raw Sienna and Holbein’s Vermilion.

3 Responses to "Gong Xi Fa Cai"

Can anything top Elsie’s”King of Pears” in perfection? If she keeps on posting pieces like these, I shall soon be at loss for words.

Very nicely painted. Are you selling your prints? How big are each print? How much is each print? Sincerely, Joselito

Thanks for your interest in my paintings! Sorry I am not doing any prints at the moment, I am just painting for fun.

Leave a Reply

E.LIM


A rank amateur self-taught watercolour artist

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

No advertising, nothing for sale

Not found on Facebook, not followed on Twitter
