Painting Kuching in Watercolour

Splash!

Posted on: 04/09/2017

I was painting this rambler rose from my garden. I had flower cuttings in a plastic vase in front of me. By the time I got to painting the leaves, the flowers were withered and in removing the vase my fingers slipped and water sloshed right on the middle of the painting! Disaster! The white flowers weren’t too badly affected but the colours of the leaves ran and the paper buckled! I had not previously stretched the paper (Fabriano 140 lb Artistico Extra White) because I didn’t expect to do juicy watery washes for this picture.

I tried salvaging by covering the runs with titanium white and recolouring the leaves but everything got too dark! And that buckled paper? How ah??

Back to the drawing board … luckily that rambler rose still has some flowering branches!

Leave a Reply

E.LIM


A rank amateur self-taught watercolour artist

September 2017
M T W T F S S
« Aug    
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

No advertising, nothing for sale

Not found on Facebook, not followed on Twitter
